ISO 9001 certification in progress RoHS material control Vietnam country-of-origin documentation rfq@saolamfg.comEmail WhatsApp +84 86 501 7914

Guide

What can PMI testing with XRF verify on a metal part, and what can it miss?

Short answer

PMI testing is positive material identification: a check, made on the metal itself rather than on its paperwork, that the alloy in a bar, casting or finished part is the grade the drawing calls for. Done with a handheld X-ray fluorescence (XRF) analyzer, it confirms alloy grade quickly and without damage, but it cannot see carbon and it cannot see temper, which is where most buyers over-trust it.

By Saola Manufacturing engineering team · Published · Updated

Buyers usually ask for PMI after a scare: a lot of 316 fittings that turned out to be 304, or a free-machining steel that showed up where a plain carbon steel was drawn. A mill test report tells you what the paperwork says. PMI tells you what the metal says. This guide is about the second question and its limits: what an XRF gun physically measures, which grade substitutions it reliably catches, which it structurally cannot, what to use instead for carbon and heat treatment, and how to write the requirement so the result means something. For reading the paperwork side, see the guide to reading a mill test report.

On this page

What does a handheld XRF analyzer actually measure?

It measures the elements present in a thin surface layer of the part by exciting the atoms with X-rays and counting the characteristic X-rays each element sends back. It reports a chemistry, then matches that chemistry against a grade library; it never measures strength, hardness or structure.

Every element fluoresces at its own energies, so the analyzer can sort the returning signal by element and estimate how much of each is present. That works well for the heavier alloying elements that define most grades: chromium, nickel, molybdenum, manganese, copper, zinc, lead, titanium, niobium and tungsten. It works less well as elements get lighter, because their fluorescence is weak and is absorbed by air and by the detector window before it is counted. Current handheld units can report magnesium, aluminum, silicon, phosphorus and sulfur, but with poorer precision and usually only with longer test times; older units may need a helium purge to see them at all. No handheld XRF measures carbon, nitrogen or boron.

Two consequences follow. First, the reading describes the surface the window touches, not the core. A zinc-plated bracket reads as zinc, a powder-coated housing reads as the coating, and a part with heavy scale or contamination gives a distorted answer. Test bare stock, a masked spot, or a small area cleaned to bright metal. Second, the grade name on the screen is a library match, not a conformance decision. When two grades in the library differ only in an element the analyzer cannot see, the screen may name either, or both. Read the element values against the specification limits, not the grade label.

ASTM E1476, the guide for metals identification, grade verification and sorting, frames this well: some methods measure composition directly, while eddy current and thermoelectric methods respond to properties affected by both chemistry and processing and give only indirect information. Choosing a method starts with knowing which of those two questions you are asking.

Which grade mix-ups can PMI testing with XRF catch, and which can it not?

XRF catches a substitution when the two grades differ in a heavy element, such as molybdenum in 316 against 304, lead in 12L14 against 1215, or zinc in 7075 against 6061. It misses a substitution when the grades differ only in carbon or only in temper.

The table pairs grades that commonly get swapped at the bar-stock stage and names the element that actually separates them. If that element is carbon, or if the only difference is temper, the handheld reading will not settle the question.

Grade pairs that get substituted, and whether handheld XRF separates them · composition limits in weight percent per ASTM A276/A276M-25 (2025 edition, stainless bar), ASTM A582/A582M-22 (2022 edition, free-machining stainless bar, for 303), ASTM A29/A29M-23 (2023 edition, carbon and alloy steel bar) and the Aluminum Association Teal Sheets; XRF column is typical capability, not any one instrument
Grade pairSeparating elementFirst grade, wt %Second grade, wt %Handheld XRF separates them?
304 vs 316MolybdenumNot specified2.00 to 3.00Yes
304 vs 304LCarbon0.08 max0.030 maxNo
316 vs 316LCarbon0.08 max0.030 maxNo
303 vs 304Sulfur0.15 min0.030 maxUsually, if the analyzer reports sulfur
12L14 vs 1215Lead0.15 to 0.35Not specifiedYes
1018 vs 1045Carbon0.15 to 0.200.43 to 0.50No
6061 vs 7075Zinc0.25 max5.1 to 6.1Yes
6061-T6 vs 6061-ONone (temper only)SameSameNo; needs hardness or conductivity

The pattern is worth remembering. Stainless family swaps (304 for 316, 430 for 304) and aluminum series swaps (6061 for 7075 or 2011) are exactly what XRF was built for, because they involve molybdenum, nickel, zinc or copper. The details of those pairs are covered in 304 vs 316 stainless and 6061 vs 7075 aluminum. Plain carbon steel grades are the opposite case: 1018, 1045 and 1050 carry the same 0.60 to 0.90 percent manganese range and differ mainly in carbon, so a handheld XRF will report “carbon steel” and nothing more useful. Aluminum die-casting alloys such as ADC12 and A380 sit in between: they are told apart mainly by silicon, a light element that handheld XRF measures with poor precision, and by copper limits that sit close together, so a handheld reading rarely separates them cleanly. The grade differences are in ADC12 vs A380.

Why can’t XRF confirm carbon content or tell 304L from 304?

Carbon is too light for X-ray fluorescence to detect in a handheld instrument, so any grade pair defined by carbon is invisible to it. Confirming carbon takes spark optical emission spectrometry (OES) or a combustion analysis in a lab.

The L grades of stainless exist for one reason: lower carbon limits sensitization during welding. If the drawing says 316L because the part is welded or sits in a corrosive service, a passing XRF reading proves only that the part is a 316-family alloy. The carbon question is still open. The same applies to 1018 against 1045, where the difference in carbon is the difference between a soft weldable steel and one that hardens, and to 52100 bearing steel, whose chromium XRF can see but whose high carbon content it cannot.

Spark OES works by striking an arc on a prepared spot and reading the light emitted, and with an argon-shielded spark it measures carbon, sulfur and phosphorus along with the metallic elements. The laboratory method for carbon and low-alloy steel is ASTM E415, and austenitic stainless is covered by ASTM E1086. Mobile OES units bring the same principle to the shop floor, at the cost of a small burn mark that must sit on a non-cosmetic, non-sealing face. For the most defensible carbon and sulfur numbers, a lab burns a chip sample and measures the combustion gases per ASTM E1019, which is destructive but unambiguous. Some handheld laser (LIBS) analyzers also report carbon; if you accept one, require that its calibration covers the low-carbon range your grade needs, and that the report states the result against the specification limit.

The comparison of the L grades themselves is in 316 vs 316L stainless. What matters here is the instruction: when the grade difference is carbon, the PMI method on your purchase order must be one that measures carbon.

Why can’t any chemistry test confirm temper or heat treatment?

Temper and heat treatment change the metal’s structure, not its composition, so 6061-T6 and annealed 6061-O give identical XRF and OES readings. Verifying temper takes a property test: hardness, electrical conductivity, or a tensile test on a coupon.

This is the gap most often missed by buyers who ask for “PMI” and assume it covers the full callout. A bar of 6061 that was never aged, or that was overheated during a later process, passes PMI and fails in service. The same is true of a 4140 shaft that was drawn as quenched and tempered but arrived in the annealed condition.

For wrought aluminum, the practical check combines hardness and eddy-current conductivity. Conductivity is measured per ASTM E1004, and SAE AMS2658 sets out hardness and conductivity inspection of wrought aluminum alloy parts, which is why aerospace buyers cite it for temper verification. For steel, a Rockwell hardness reading per ASTM E18 on a flat spot confirms that heat treatment happened and landed in range; case depth on a carburized or induction-hardened part needs a sectioned sample. Tensile strength itself can only be confirmed by pulling a specimen, which is why the mill test report, not PMI, remains the record of mechanical properties. The difference between aluminum tempers that look alike on paper is covered in 6061-T6 vs T651.

How should you write a PMI requirement on a drawing or purchase order?

Name the method, the elements that must be reported, the sample size, the stage at which the test happens and what the report must contain. “PMI required” on its own invites a handheld reading with a grade label and nothing else.

Useful wording, adapted to the grade on the drawing, looks like this:

  • MATERIAL VERIFICATION: PMI BY XRF OR OES PER ASTM E1476 GUIDANCE, EACH HEAT OF BAR STOCK BEFORE MACHINING. REPORT CR, NI, MO, MN WITH HEAT NUMBER AND INSTRUMENT ID.
  • 316L ONLY: CARBON TO SPECIFICATION LIMIT, VERIFIED BY SPARK OES OR COMBUSTION ANALYSIS. HANDHELD XRF NOT ACCEPTED FOR CARBON.
  • 6061-T6: TEMPER VERIFIED BY HARDNESS AND EDDY-CURRENT CONDUCTIVITY, ONE PART PER LOT, RESULTS REPORTED AGAINST AMS2658 LIMITS.
  • PMI READINGS TAKEN ON BARE METAL BEFORE PLATING OR COATING, OR ON A MASKED SPOT.

Decide the sample size from the risk. A mix-up usually happens at the stock level, one wrong bar in a bundle or one wrong bin, so testing one piece per heat catches a wrong heat but not a wrong bar. Refining and petrochemical plants, which typically base their material verification programs on API Recommended Practice 578, often test every alloy component in a pressure boundary. For an OEM machined part, a reasonable middle ground is every bar or casting lot at receipt plus a sample of finished parts, and every part where a wrong grade would be a safety or pressure failure.

Finally, require the report to show the measured values, not just “pass”. A useful PMI record carries the part or lot number, the heat number, the instrument and its check against a reference sample that day, the element values and the operator. That record is what lets PMI connect to the certificate of conformance and the mill certificate rather than sit beside them.

Where should PMI testing happen: at the supplier, at receiving, or at a lab?

The earlier the better: testing bar stock before it is machined costs the least, and testing finished parts at your own receiving dock is the only check fully under your control. A lab is the right call when the question is carbon, a dispute, or a reading that sits near a limit.

Supplier-side PMI is fast and cheap if the supplier owns the instrument, but it is only as useful as the record it produces. Receiving inspection with your own analyzer catches substitution at any stage, including a wrong grade introduced by a sub-tier. A third-party lab adds OES, combustion and hardness capability and an independent signature. Many buyers mix the three: supplier tests stock, buyer spot-checks finished parts, lab settles anything ambiguous.

To be plain about the plant behind this site: Saola’s quality page lists material certification on request, described as the traceable material source for the alloy or steel grade used, along with first-article inspection reports and dimensional inspection records. It does not list an XRF analyzer, an OES unit, hardness testing or a PMI report. If your part needs PMI, put the method and who performs it on the RFQ, whether that is a third-party lab or your own receiving inspection, so the requirement is quoted rather than discovered. The bar grades listed for CNC turning, such as 12L14 steel, 52100 steel, 2011-T3 and 6061-T6 aluminum and silicon bronze, include grades where XRF is decisive, like the lead in 12L14 or the copper in 2011, and grades where it is not, like the carbon in 52100 and the temper of 6061-T6. Traceability on paper is covered in EN 10204 3.1 vs 2.2 certificates.

What mistakes make a PMI result worthless?

Reading through plating or coating, trusting the grade label instead of the element values, and accepting XRF for a carbon-defined grade are the three that come up most. Each produces a confident “pass” that answers the wrong question.

Other recurring problems are smaller but real. An analyzer that has not been checked against a reference sample of known chemistry that day can drift. A reading taken on a curved, small or rough surface that does not cover the window gives a low, noisy result. A test on a sample part that was pulled from a different lot than the shipment proves nothing about the shipment. And a PMI report with no heat or lot number cannot be tied to anything. When a reading lands near a specification limit, treat it as a reason for a lab analysis, not as a pass or a reject; handheld precision is coarser than the lab methods the specifications assume. If you are also checking a substitution of lead-bearing brass, the grade logic for water parts is in lead-free brass for NSF 61 and NSF 372.

Frequently asked

Is PMI the same as a mill test report?

No. The mill test report records the producer’s chemistry and mechanical tests on a heat. PMI is an independent check that the metal in front of you matches a grade. PMI can catch a part made from the wrong bar even when the paperwork is genuine, but it cannot replace the report’s mechanical results.

Does XRF damage the part?

No. Handheld XRF is non-destructive and leaves no mark, which is why it suits finished and cosmetic parts. Spark OES leaves a small burn spot, and combustion analysis consumes a chip sample, so plan where those go.

Can XRF check a part for RoHS restricted substances?

XRF is widely used as a screen for lead, cadmium and mercury, and it is good at finding lead in free-machining steel and brass. It cannot tell trivalent chromium from hexavalent chromium, so a chromate finish needs a chemical test for that question.

Can PMI verify the alloy of a die casting?

It can separate aluminum from zinc alloys and flag gross contamination, but aluminum die-casting alloys that differ mainly in silicon, such as ADC12 and A380, are hard to separate by handheld XRF. For ingot or casting chemistry disputes, lab OES on a sample is the dependable route.

Should every part be tested?

Only where a wrong grade would cause a safety, pressure or regulatory failure. For most machined parts, testing every heat of stock plus a sample of finished parts is proportionate, provided the heat number is carried through to the shipment.

Have a drawing for this? Send it for a quote.

STEP or PDF, one part or a whole family. You get a unit price at your volume, the tooling cost, and a short manufacturability note.