ISO 9001 certification in progress RoHS material control Vietnam country-of-origin documentation rfq@saolamfg.comEmail WhatsApp +84 86 501 7914

Guide

Which lead-free brass works for NSF 61 and NSF 372 machined water parts?

Short answer

Lead-free brass is a copper-zinc alloy whose lead content is low enough that a finished drinking-water product made from it can meet the US legal definition of “lead free”. In practice that means replacing classic free-cutting brass, whose lead is what makes it machine so easily, with a silicon brass such as C69300 or a low-lead yellow brass such as C27450, and then proving the result through NSF/ANSI 372 or NSF/ANSI/CAN 61.

By Saola Manufacturing engineering team · Published · Updated

This guide is for mechanical engineers and sourcing managers who have a turned or milled brass part in a faucet, valve, meter, fitting or pump and need to move it off a leaded alloy, or who are buying such a part from a supplier outside the US. It explains what the law actually limits, how the two NSF standards divide the work, which alloys are used and how they behave on a lathe, where the certification duty sits when a part is made in one country and sold in another, and what documents to ask for.

On this page

What does “lead free” mean under the Safe Drinking Water Act?

Under Section 1417 of the Safe Drinking Water Act, a pipe, fitting or fixture is “lead free” when the weighted average lead content of its wetted surfaces is not more than 0.25 percent, and solder or flux is lead free at not more than 0.2 percent (Public Law 111-380). “Lead free” is therefore a legal threshold, not a claim of zero lead.

The threshold was set by the Reduction of Lead in Drinking Water Act, signed on January 4, 2011, which rewrote the definition in Section 1417 and took effect 36 months after enactment, in January 2014 (Public Law 111-380, section 2(b)). Before that change the limit for pipes and fittings was 8 percent lead, according to the EPA summary of the rule, which is why the leaded free-cutting brasses were acceptable in plumbing for decades and are not today.

The EPA turned the statute into a regulation in 2020, 40 CFR part 143, subpart B. It repeats the definition and calculation almost verbatim, prohibits both installing and selling a non-compliant product, and adds a certification duty, covered further down, that the 2011 law did not have.

The rule also lists what it does not cover. Products used only for nonpotable services, such as industrial processing, irrigation and outdoor watering, are exempt, and so are products plainly marketed for conveying something other than water, including air, hydraulic fluids, refrigerants and gases. Toilets, urinals, fill valves, shower valves, tub fillers, fire hydrants, service saddles and water main gate valves 2 inches in diameter or larger are exempt by name (40 CFR 143.16). A brass part for a natural-gas meter set is therefore outside the rule, even though it may look identical to a water part; your own drawing or customer specification still governs the alloy.

What is the difference between NSF/ANSI 372 and NSF/ANSI/CAN 61?

NSF/ANSI 372 checks lead content only: it verifies that the product meets the weighted-average lead limit. NSF/ANSI/CAN 61 is a health-effects standard that also tests what leaches into water from the product, for metals and non-metals, and since October 2017 it has required 372 compliance as well.

That split comes from the EPA’s own guide to certification marks (EPA, revised June 2024). The guide explains that a mark reading “NSF/ANSI 372” means the product meets the lead-content requirement, while “NSF/ANSI/CAN 61” means it has also passed leachate requirements. Older products may carry “61-G” or “Annex G”, the retired predecessor of the lead-content check, and some certifiers still require the 372 text on the product even when 61 is shown.

The difference matters for a machined part in two ways. First, 372 is a calculation on material data and wetted areas, so the alloy choice decides it almost entirely. Second, 61 is a test on the finished product or component in contact with water, so machining residues, cutting fluids, plating and the way the part is cleaned can affect a leach result even when the alloy is well under the lead limit. Utilities, plumbing codes and specifying engineers often call for 61, not just 372, so check which one your market asks for before choosing a material.

Which lead-free brass alloys replace C36000 in machined water parts?

For bar-fed turned parts the usual choices are C69300, a silicon brass, and C27450, a low-lead yellow brass; for cast bodies that are machined afterward, C87850 is the cast counterpart of the silicon brass. C36000 free-cutting brass cannot meet the limit when it makes up most or all of the wetted surface, and even a small wetted share of it uses up most of the 0.25 percent budget.

The table compares the four grades using the Copper Development Association’s alloy records, which list the ASTM product specifications each alloy is sold under. Lead is the row to read first, but read it the way the law does: for a range, the maximum counts.

Composition limits (weight percent), machinability rating and product specifications. Source: Copper Development Association alloy data, accessed September 2026, listing ASTM B16, ASTM B927, ASTM B371 and ASTM B505/B584/B806 as the product standards. Lead-free test per 40 CFR 143.12 (2020), which uses the maximum of a range.
AlloyTypeCopperLead (max)SiliconMachinability (C36000 = 100)Typical product standard
C36000Free-cutting brass (leaded)60.0–63.03.0 (min 2.5)Not specified100ASTM B16 rod and bar
C27450Low-lead yellow brass60.0–65.00.25Not specified70ASTM B927 rod; B124 forging rod
C69300Silicon brass73.0–77.00.092.7–3.485ASTM B371 rod; B124 forging rod
C87850Cast silicon brass74.0–78.00.092.7–3.470ASTM B505, B806, B584 castings

Two things stand out. C27450 has a lead maximum of exactly 0.25 percent in its CDA record, the same figure as the legal limit, so a product made entirely from it meets the weighted average with no margin, and any coating or second wetted material with more lead would push it over. C69300 and C87850 have a lead maximum of 0.09 percent (CDA, C69300), which leaves room for the other components in an assembly.

The silicon brasses are also a different alloy family, not just C36000 with the lead removed. They carry much more copper, their strength is higher and they list faucet stems, water valve bodies and water meter cases among typical uses in the CDA record.

How do C69300 and C27450 machine compared with C36000?

Both machine well, but not as easily as leaded brass: on the Copper Development Association scale, where C36000 is 100, C69300 is rated 85 and C27450 is rated 70. Expect longer chips, more tool wear and more attention to burrs than a C36000 job of the same geometry.

In C36000 the lead sits in the structure as small particles that break the chip, so the alloy produces short, discrete chips at almost any feed. Take the lead out and the chip-breaking has to come from somewhere else. In the silicon brasses the silicon-rich phase does part of that work, which is why C69300 keeps a high rating; C27450 relies mostly on tool geometry and feed, so chips tend to be longer and stringier.

What changes on the drawing and in the quote is mostly practical. Industry guidance is to use sharp, positive-rake tooling suited to non-ferrous work, to plan chip control on deep bores and long turned lengths, and to specify deburring on cross-drilled ports and threads, where long chips and rolled burrs are most likely. At Saola, the same drawing tolerances apply whether the bar is leaded or lead-free, and what a given part can hold is confirmed in its quote. The CNC turning page covers the lathe work in more detail.

How is the weighted-average lead content calculated for a fitting?

For each wetted component, multiply its lead percentage by its share of the product’s total wetted surface area, then add the results; the maximum of the material’s lead range is always the figure used. Only surfaces that touch water count, so a leaded part that is fully outside the water path does not enter the sum.

The method is written into the statute and repeated in 40 CFR 143.12. The same section adds two rules that affect machined parts. If a coating is applied to an internal wetted surface, the maximum lead content of both the coating and the alloy under it is used. If a permanent liner seals a leaded surface away from the water, the liner’s lead content is used instead.

A worked example shows why margin matters. Take a valve whose body is 80 percent of the wetted area and whose stem is the other 20 percent, in the way the formula in the statute is written. With both in C69300 at a 0.09 percent maximum, the weighted average is 0.09 percent. With both in C27450 at 0.25 percent, it is exactly 0.25 percent, still compliant but with nothing left for a plated or coated surface.

Who has to hold the certification when parts are made overseas?

The manufacturer or the importer that introduces the finished product into US commerce must obtain certification from an ANSI-accredited third-party certification body, such as to NSF/ANSI 372, and has had to since September 1, 2023. A component supplier machining parts to your drawing is not usually the party that certifies.

The regulation defines “manufacturer” to include a company that has products made under a contract and sold under its own brand, and “importer” to include the importer as defined for customs purposes (40 CFR 143.11 and 143.19). Components of an assembled product do not need individual certification when the whole product in its final assembled form holds the certification, and direct replacement parts for a product that holds it are covered if their weighted-average lead does not exceed the original part’s. Documentation must be kept for at least 5 years after the last sale.

There are two self-certification routes. A manufacturer with fewer than 10 employees, or an importer buying from one, may self-certify, and so may anyone for a custom fabricated product: one made case by case for a single customer, with no UPC, not stocked and not cataloged.

For a buyer moving machined brass from a domestic shop to a supplier in Vietnam or elsewhere in Asia, the sourcing change does not move the certification duty. Your assembly keeps its certification as long as the new part is in the same alloy and wetted geometry the certifier accepted; changing the alloy or the supplier of a wetted material is usually something the certification body wants to hear about. Check your listing terms before the first shipment, not after. The customs side of a Vietnam supply chain is covered separately on the tariffs and origin page.

What should you ask a machining supplier for on a lead-free brass part?

Ask for the alloy by UNS number and product standard on every mill test report, with lead reported as a measured value, plus a statement of how lead-free and leaded stock are kept apart. Those documents feed your own wetted-area calculation and your certifier’s file.

A practical request list for the RFQ and the first article:

  • The alloy called out on the drawing in full, for example “C69300 per ASTM B371”, and a note that substitution requires written approval.
  • A mill test report for each heat or lot, showing the chemistry including lead, traceable to the bar or casting used.
  • A description of how bar, remnants and chips of leaded and lead-free alloys are segregated and marked; a mixed bar passes every dimensional check and fails only on chemistry.
  • Whether an incoming chemistry check is run on the bar, and by what method.
  • The cutting fluid and the cleaning step used before packing, since both can matter for an NSF/ANSI/CAN 61 leach test on the finished product.
  • Any plating or coating on wetted surfaces, with its composition, because it enters the lead calculation. The surface finishing page lists the finishes our partner plants apply, and the quote names where each step is done.

Do not accept a supplier’s own “NSF approved material” wording as a substitute for your product’s certification. Saola’s ISO 9001 certification is in progress and not yet held, and Saola does not hold an NSF product listing; the documents above are what a component supplier can provide. The RFQ preparation guide covers the rest of the package, and parts for gas and water service are described on the gas and water distribution page.

Frequently asked

Is lead-free brass completely free of lead?

No. “Lead free” is the legal definition in Section 1417, a weighted-average limit on wetted surfaces. The alloys used to meet it still carry a small permitted amount of lead, shown as a maximum in their composition limits.

Can I keep C36000 for parts that never touch drinking water?

Often yes. The rule counts only wetted surfaces, and products used exclusively for nonpotable service or for gases are exempt. Check the whole product, its labeling and your customer specification before deciding; a mixed stock of leaded and lead-free parts also raises the risk of a mix-up.

Do I need NSF 61 or is NSF 372 enough?

For the federal lead-free requirement, 372 is enough. Many utilities, plumbing codes and specifying engineers call for 61, which adds the leachate test and now includes 372, so the market you sell into usually decides.

Is C69300 always the better choice than C27450?

Not always. C69300 machines better and leaves more lead margin, while C27450 is a yellow brass closer to what many shops already run. Choose on margin, strength, corrosion behavior in your water and bar availability, and put the choice on the drawing.

Can Saola quote a lead-free brass turned part?

Send the drawing with the alloy and its standard called out, and say whether the part is a wetted component. Whether the part is turned at our lead CNC plant, and how the material documentation is supplied, are confirmed in the written quote.

Sources

  1. Public Law 111-380, Reduction of Lead in Drinking Water Act (amending Section 1417 of the Safe Drinking Water Act), US Government Publishing Office, January 4, 2011
  2. 40 CFR part 143, subpart B: Use of Lead Free Pipes, Fittings, Fixtures, Solder, and Flux for Drinking Water (85 FR 54256), eCFR, rule published September 1, 2020, accessed September 2026
  3. Use of Lead Free Pipes, Fittings, Fixtures, Solder and Flux for Drinking Water, US Environmental Protection Agency, accessed September 2026
  4. How to Identify Lead Free Certification Marks for Pipes, Fittings, Fixtures, Solder, and Flux Used for Drinking Water (EPA/600/F-13/153d), US EPA, revised June 2024
  5. C36000 alloy record, Copper Development Association, accessed September 2026
  6. C27450 alloy record, Copper Development Association, accessed September 2026
  7. C69300 alloy record, Copper Development Association, accessed September 2026
  8. C87850 alloy record, Copper Development Association, accessed September 2026

Moving a brass water part off leaded alloy?

Send the drawing with the lead-free alloy called out and a note on which surfaces are wetted. That way the material documentation is agreed at the quote stage, not after the first shipment.